Research

 
Sources

Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/

Internet Archive Wayback Machine. https://archive.org/web/

Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/

Meeks, D. Science. http://denisemeeks.com/science/

Meeks, D. Tutor Research Guide. http://denisemeeks.com/science/documents/trg.pdf

Mukherjee, S. (Nov., 2010). Emperor of All Maladies. https://openlibrary.org/books/OL24497170M/Emperor_of_All_Mala

National Academies Press. Science, Engineering, Medicine. https://www.nap.edu/topic/

National Archives. https://www.archives.gov/

Open Education Database. The Best Online Research Apps/Sites You've Never Heard Of. https://oedb.org/ilibrarian/best-online-research-sites/

Oransky, I. Retraction Watch.

Poynter. News University. https://www.poynter.org/newsu/

Project Gutenberg. http://www.gutenberg.org/

PubMed.gov. U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

Rodgers, R. Fact Checking. http://plaza.ufl.edu/rrodgers/JOURNALISM%20LINKS.html#factcheck

Student Press Law Center. Public Records Letter Generator. https://splc.org/lettergenerator/

TeachThought. 100 Search Engines For Academic Research. https://www.teachthought.com/learning/100-search-engines-for-academic-research/

University of Arizona. A-Z Databases: Journalism. University Libraries. https://libguides.library.arizona.edu/az.php?s=160051

University of Arizona. University Libraries. https://new.library.arizona.edu/

U.S. Government Publishing Office. https://www.gpo.gov/

Whois.net. https://www.whois.net/


 
Preprint Servers

ChemRxiv. https://chemrxiv.org/

Cornell University. arXiv. https://arxiv.org/

Gitlin, J. M. (May 6, 2020). The Preprint Problem: Unvetted Science is Fueling COVID-19 Misinformation. ARS Technica. https://arstechnica.com/science/2020/05/a-lot-of-covid-19-papers-havent-been-peer-reviewed-reader-beware/

Khamsi, R. (June 1, 2020). Problems with Preprints: Covering Rough-Draft Manuscripts Responsibly. TheOPENNotebook. https://www.theopennotebook.com/2020/06/01/problems-with-preprints-covering-rough-draft-manuscripts-responsibly/

Kwon, D. (May 7, 2020). How Swamped Preprint Servers are Blocking Bad Coronavirus Research. Nature. https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-020-01394-6

LetPub. (2020). What are Preprint Servers and What is Their Role in Scholarly Publishing? https://www.letpub.com/author_education_What_are_preprint_servers_and_what_is_their_role_in_scholarly_publishing

PrePubMed. http://www.prepubmed.org/ http://www.prepubmed.org/

PsyArXiv. https://psyarxiv.com/

Teixeira da Silva, J. A. (2018). The Preprint Debate: What Are the Issues? Medical Journal Armed Forces India, 72, 162-164. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5912112/pdf/main.pdf

The Winnower. https://thewinnower.com/


 
Interviews

Alix, A. 10 Journalistic Techniques for Successful Interviews. The Writing Cooperative. https://writingcooperative.com/10-journalistic-techniques-for-successful-interviews-de8aebfa652

Daly, C. B. & Kille, L. W. (June 1, 2016). Interviewing a Source: Tips. Harvard Shorenstein Center. https://journalistsresource.org/tip-sheets/reporting/interviewing-a-source/

Dronkers, M. (June 11, 2015). How to Interview "Almost" Anyone. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDOQBPYEaNs

Gross, T. The Terry Gross you don't see on the radio. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsL4QIIAGbE&feature=youtu.be

Harrower, T. 20 Interviewing tips. Inside Reporting, p. 79 https://www.radford.edu/~rstepno/104/20interviewtips.html

Kelley, T. (1998, Mar. 29). "Everyone Has a Story," as one reporter proves. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/1998/03/29/us/everyone-has-a-story-as-one-reporter-proves.html

Liebelson, D. (Feb. 22, 2018). 5 interview tips every journalist needs. International Journalists' Network. https://ijnet.org/en/resource/5-interview-tips-every-journalist-needs

Poynter. 7 Tips for Conducting Better Interviews with Scientists. https://www.poynter.org/educators-students/2016/7-tips-for-conducting-better-interviews-with-scientists/

Radcliff, D. (Aug. 17, 2020). 9 remote interviewing tips for journalists. International Journalists' Network. https://ijnet.org/en/story/9-remote-interviewing-tips-journalists

Stuteville, S. (April 26, 2013). 13 simple journalist techniques for effective interviews. https://matadornetwork.com/bnt/13-simple-journalist-techniques-for-effective-interviews/



International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions
Jan. 27, 2017
Wikipedia Fake News
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:How_to_Spot_Fake_News.pdf
CC BY-SA 4.0
 
Fake News

BuzzFeed. (2020, Apr. 2). These Fake Local News Sites Have Confused People For Years. We Found Out Who Created Them. https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/craigsilverman/these-fake-local-news-sites-have-confused-people-for-years

Dwyer, C. (Oct. 4, 2019). 10 Ways to Spot Fake News. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/thoughts-thinking/201910/10-ways-spot-fake-news

Golden Gate University. (July 30, 2020). Fake News: Common Logical Fallacies. https://ggu.libguides.com/c.php?g=810754&p=5785291

Kenyon, G. (Jan. 6, 2016). The Man Who Studies the Spread of Ignorance. BBC. https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20160105-the-man-who-studies-the-spread-of-ignorance

Meyer, R. (March 8. 2018). The Grim Conclusions of the Largest-Ever Study of Fake News. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2018/03/largest-study-ever-fake-news-mit-twitter/555104/

Steinberg, L. (July 26, 2017). Beyond Fake News. EAVI Media Literacy for Citizenship. https://eavi.eu/beyond-fake-news-10-types-misleading-info/

University of Iowa. (Oct. 22, 2019). Fake News: Logical Falacies. https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/c.php?g=849536&p=6077643

University of Michigan. (June 24, 2020). "Fake News," Lies and Propaganda: How to Sort Fact from Fiction. https://guides.lib.umich.edu/fakenews


 
Mis/Disinformation

Al Jazeera. (2018, Feb. 1). Disinformation and Democracy (Part I) People and Power. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZEz6Pc3Z24

Al Jazeera. (2018, Feb. 7). Disinformation and Democracy (Part II) People and Power. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuaRz7BOm1A

International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. https://www.ifla.org/

Library of Congress. (2020). Government Responses to Disinformation on Social Media Platforms https://www.loc.gov/law/help/social-media-disinformation/index.php

News Media Alliance. (2021). Journalists' tips for avoiding fake news. https://www.newsmediaalliance.org/journalists-tips-for-avoiding-fake-news/

Poynter. (2021). A guide to anti-misinformation actions around the world. https://www.poynter.org/ifcn/anti-misinformation-actions/

Reverse Phone Lookup. https://www.numlookup.com/

Spotify. (2020, Nov.). How the BBC addresses the challenge of disinformation worldwide. https://open.spotify.com/episode/2Ve1P98qgJoCf5KBtDaQaV?go=1&utm_source=embed_v3&t=0&nd=1

The Washington Post. (2021, Jan. 23). Four years of Trump falsehoods. https://www.washingtonpost.com/video/politics/four-years-of-trump-falsehoods-fact-checker/2021/01/23/0504f763-f2bb-4e50-b71c-58ce2838fe59_video.html


 
Conspiracy Theories

Global Voices. What drives "J-Anon", QAnon's Japanese counterpart? https://globalvoices.org/2021/01/13/what-drives-j-anon-qanons-japanese-counterpart/?utm_source=Global+Voices&utm_campaign=263e3769f3-Daily_Digest_COPY_01&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_633e82444a-263e3769f3-291266018&ct=t(Daily_Digest_COPY_01)

Mashable. (2021). Conspiracy theories. https://mashable.com/category/conspiracy-theories/

Time. (2019). Conspiracy theories. http://content.time.com/time/specials/packages/completelist/0,29569,1860871,00.htm


 
Data Sources

 
Sources

Data.gov. https://www.data.gov/

Google. Dataset search. https://datasetsearch.research.google.com/

Google. Public data. https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/

University Analytics & Institutional Research. Interactive factbook. https://uair.arizona.edu/content/overview


 
History

Cox, M. (2000). The development of computer-assisted reporting. School of Communication, University of Miami. https://d2l.arizona.edu/content/enforced/506750-994-2162-PREJOUR447547131/CAR%20History.pdf?_&d2lSessionVal=3k7EOmKsbAxDFqczT0560QXKL&ou=1056876

Maier, S. R. (2000). Digital diffusion in newsrooms. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. https://d2l.arizona.edu/content/enforced/506750-994-2162-PREJOUR447547131/Diffusion%20Uneven.pdf?_&d2lSessionVal=3k7EOmKsbAxDFqczT0560QXKL&ou=1056876


 
FOIA & Info Requests

AltGov2. https://altgov2.org/

Arizona FOIA Resources. https://www.nfoic.org/state-foi-resource/arizona-foi-resources/

Arizona Sample FOIA Request. https://www.nfoic.org/arizona-sample-foia-request/

Ashley's Totally Basic FOIA Tutorial. Full Frontal with Samantha Bee. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDTT70x3vME&t=4s

FOIA.gov. https://www.foia.gov/

FOIA Requests and Other Background Checks. https://www.ilrc.org/foia-requests-and-other-background-checks?gclid=Cj0KCQjws4aKBhDPARIsAIWH0JWhtvKb8wZs2PoBpoAGkpHuCT8io16iW3sjN6WzJLecCU4QxIQryVQaAl2XEALw_wcB

FOIA Wiki. https://foia.wiki/wiki/Main_Page

Governmentattic.org. https://governmentattic.org/

iFOIA.org. https://ifoia.org/

MuckRock. https://www.muckrock.com/?gclid=Cj0KCQjws4aKBhDPARIsAIWH0JXVbj2B1mGsr4_nBtT8y5G5x9f19dWn7DYSdJt8qEcq5a2JAD2WH_kaAsjUEALw_wcB

National Freedom of Information Coalition. Sample FOIA Request Letters. https://www.nfoic.org/sample-foia-request-letters

National Security Archive. https://nsarchive.gwu.edu/

Public Records Letter Generator. https://splc.org/lettergenerator/

U.S. Department of Education FOIA Logs. https://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/leg/foia/foia-log.html

U.S. Department of State FOIA Logs. https://foia.state.gov/Search/Logs.aspx


 
Fact-checking

Berkeley Library. Real news/Fake news: Fact checkers. https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=620677&p=4333407

Duke Reporters Lab. Fact checking news. https://reporterslab.org/fact-checking/

FactCheck.org. https://www.factcheck.org/

FactCheck.org. Our process. https://www.factcheck.org/our-process/

FactCheck.org. SciCheck. https://www.factcheck.org/scicheck/

IFCN. Commit to transparency - sign up for the International Fact-Checking Network's code of principles. https://www.ifcncodeofprinciples.poynter.org/

KSJ Fact-checking Project. Fact-checking 101. https://ksjfactcheck.org/fact-checking-101-module/

New York Times. How Facebook's Fact-Checking Partnership Will Work. https://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/15/technology/facebook-fact-checking-fake-news.html?_r=0

Politifact. https://www.politifact.com/

Poynter. (2021). There is a growing tribe of truth warriors fighting false news in India https://www.poynter.org/fact-checking/2019/there-is-a-growing-tribe-of-truth-warriors-fighting-false-news-in-india/

Snopes. https://www.snopes.com/fact-check/mcdonalds-banned-mcfish/


 
Verification Tools

American Scientist. (2021). How to detect fake photos. https://www.americanscientist.org/article/how-to-detect-faked-photos

Amnesty International. YouTube data viewer. https://citizenevidence.amnestyusa.org/

DataJournalism.com. Verification Handbook. https://datajournalism.com/read/handbook/verification-3

EXIF Viewer Chrome Extension. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/exif-viewer/kbnpbnmjmgabkfemdehelbgdppngihhg?hl=en-US

Feedly. https://feedly.com/

First Draft. (2017, Sep. 28). Browser Extensions with Malachy Brown. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=braYUl5Hjrs&feature=emb_title

First Draft. Claire Wardle discusses verification for #FDLive at The New York Times. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDyP6DyEucE&t=2s

First Draft. (2016, June 3). 5 free tools for finding and verifying YouTube videos in news. https://firstdraftnews.org/latest/5-free-tools-for-finding-and-verifying-youtube-videos-in-news/

First Draft. (2020, May 15). How to verify images with reverse image search on your computer or your mobile phone. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gTGqXyxUiU&t=183s

First Draft. NewsCheck. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/firstdraftnewscheck/japockpeaaanknlkhagilkgcledilbf

First Draft. Observation challenge. https://firstdraftnews.org/en/education/curriculum-resource/5-test-geo-location-skills/

First Draft. Observation online challenge. https://firstdraftnews.org/en/education/curriculum-resource/2-assessment-observation/

First Draft. Photo verification guide. https://firstdraftnews.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/FDN_verificationguide_photos.pdf?x82619

First Draft. Verification Toolbox. https://firstdraftnews.org/verification-toolbox/

First Draft. Visual verification guide. https://firstdraftnews.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/FDN_verificationguide_photos.pdf

Frame by Frame for YouTube. http://www.watchframebyframe.com/

France 24. Real or fake - How to verify what you see on the Internet? YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8su4chuU3M

Hayes, C. (2020, June 8). OSINT toolkit. https://medium.com/osint/the-osint-toolkit-3b9233d1cdf9

Hill, K. & White, J. (202, Nov. 21). Designed to deceive: Do these people look real to you? https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/11/21/science/artificial-intelligence-fake-people-faces.html

Poynter. (2020, June 23). The elephant in the room: Fact-checking vs verification. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrpSwGj2p18&feature=emb_title

Shadows and SunCalc. (2019, Jan. 4). Calculating time using clues within a Google Streetview scene. https://medium.com/quiztime/lining-up-shadows-2351ae106cec

StartMe Dashboard. https://start.me/p/vjv80b/first-draft-basic-toolkit

SunCalc. https://www.suncalc.org

WolframAlpha. Weather widgets. https://www.wolframalpha.com/widgets/gallery/?category=weather

YouTube Geosearch. http://youtube.github.io/geo-search-tool/search.html


 
Investigative Reporting

Investigative Reporters & Editors. https://www.ire.org/

ProPublica. https://www.propublica.org/

Reveal. https://revealnews.org/


 
Biographies

Berkeley Narrative Journalism Conference. Attendee Bios. https://events.journalism.berkeley.edu/narrative/attendee-bios/

Carl Zimmer Biography. https://carlzimmer.com/about/bio/

Freelance Writing. Writing an Author Bio - Examples of Professional Bios https://www.freelancewriting.com/freelancing/writing-an-author-bio/

NPR. People at NPR. https://www.npr.org/series/6000/people-at-npr

Science News. Nancy Schute. https://www.sciencenews.org/author/nancy-shute

The New York Times. (2020). Tatianna Schlossberg. https://www.nytimes.com/by/tatiana-schlossberg

TruSciPhi. Professional Science Writers on Twitter. https://truesciphi.org/psw.html


 
Podcasts

Arizona Science. https://radio.azpm.org/arizonascience/

British Medical Journal. https://www.bmj.com/archive/podcasts

CDC. https://www.cdc.gov/flu/resource-center/freeresources/video/media-podcasts.htm

deGrass Tyson, N. StarTalk. startalkradio.net

Lancet Voice. https://www.thelancet.com/the-lancet-voice

Mendelspod. https://mendelspod.com/

Micah Hanks. https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/gralien-report/the-gralien-report

Mysterious Universe. The Guardian. https://tunein.com/podcasts/Science-Podcasts/Mysterious-Universe-p591665/

New England Journal of Medicine. https://www.nejm.org/multimedia/audio-summary

NPR. Hidden Brain. https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510308/hidden-brain

NPR. Science Friday. https://www.sciencefriday.com/

Radiolab. https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/radiolab/podcasts

The Atlantic. Social Distance. https://www.theatlantic.com/podcasts/socialdistance/

The Guardian. Science Weekly. https://www.theguardian.com/science/series/science

WHO. https://www.who.int/mediacentre/multimedia/podcasts/en/


 
Internet News

AAAS Science. http://aaas.sciencepubs.org/ http://aaas.sciencepubs.org/

American Scientist. https://www.americanscientist.org/

Astronomy Magazine. https://astronomy.com/

Center for Biological Diversity. https://biologicaldiversity.org/

Cosmos Magazine. https://cosmosmagazine.com/

Discover Magazine. https://www.discovermagazine.com/

EarthSky. https://earthsky.org/

Google. Science Podcasts. https://www.google.com/search?q=science+podcasts&oq=science+podcasts&
aqs=chrome..69i57j0l7.3311j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Health Sciences Connect. University of Arizona. https://healthsciences.arizona.edu/connect/news

High Country News. https://www.hcn.org/

Inside Science. https://www.insidescience.org/?track=AW

National Geographic. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/

National Phenology Network. https://www.usanpn.org/usa-national-phenology-network

Nature. https://www.nature.com/

Plait, P. Bad Astronomy. https://www.syfy.com/tags/bad-astronomy

Proceedings of the National Academcy of Sciences. https://www.pnas.org

Quanta Magazine. https://www.quantamagazine.org/

Rodgers, R. News. http://plaza.ufl.edu/rrodgers/JOURNALISM%20LINKS.html#news

Science Magazine. https://www.sciencemag.org/

Science News. https://www.sciencenews.org/

Scientific American. https://www.scientificamerican.com/

Sky & Telescope Magazine. https://skyandtelescope.org/

STAT News. https://www.statnews.com/

The OPENNotebook. https://www.theopennotebook.com/

Zimmer, C. Matter. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/column/matter


 
Law

BYU Law Library. How to Read a Legal Citation. https://lawlibguides.byu.edu/c.php?g=315332&p=2106921

First Amendment Coalition of Arizona. https://www.nfoic.org/organizations/first-amendment-coalition-arizona-inc/

Library of Congress. Law Online: Nations. https://www.loc.gov/law/help/guide/nations.php

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. https://www.rcfp.org/

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. Open government guide. https://www.rcfp.org/open-government-guide/

Student Press Law Center. https://splc.org/


Denise Meeks, dmeeks@email.arizona.edu